WDT/VSTM Archive: Ptolemy Pegram’s Big Noise Band – Pram Noise

Ptolemy
(this is genuinely the largest cover art photo I have)

So despite being called a band, Ptolemy’s was actually just me, except when it came to a live setting (Live at The Oil Disco had 6 members or so as I recall: more on this when it appears next in the catalogue). Some of the stuff on this particular record – for which Thos designed the cover – is horrendous, by which I mean noisy (kind of the point) and seriously rough around the edges. A wealth of half thought through notions and partial connections. Oh well.

I still think this has some nice work on it. A lot of it seems to be constructed with VST/VSTis that were still in beta testing, meaning it’s unlikely I’d have got the same sort of results if I tried something similar today. More importantly, it was an opportunity to experiment that would eventually yield a wealth of new directions and techniques that could be incorporated elsewhere. I think this was the first time I used a cymbal as a primary instrument, for example, and this subsequently became a mainstay of Heroines work, both live (the one time that happened) and recorded. What I remember of the making of the record was that it was fun to do, which hasn’t necessarily been the case with other records. Any way…more reflections on the Archive page.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

