Listening Habits: Sept 23 onwards

I have a backlog of things I wanted to have completed by now, in preparation for my ‘One Year Anniversary’ doing this blog (we’re also approaching the 2000 visits mark which is equally exciting), but I have been knocked for six by a boringly routine operation on my foot. This is mainly down to painkillers that have rendered higher brain function impossible, so the last week has involved listening to some new albums, some old ones, playing Mass Effect and reading up on Classical Theory in preparation for teaching my first class on October 19th*. As such, posts previously promised on Northumberland, Horses and Wales will probably all turn up at some stage during November, when I am properly settled in to the new term. Also, having finished The Provinces Project, I am taking a rest from making music until the New Year, with the exception of a track made for Christmas, as I often do. 2011 will see the recommencing of my white boy hip hop project with Thos, which I have neglected for far too long. Any way…my top seven in the last week have been:

Solar Bears
7. Solar Bears – She Was Coloured In

Oval O
6. Oval – O

Abe Vigoda
5. Abe Vigoda – Crush

Blonde
4. Blonde Redhead – Penny Sparkle

Arp
3. Arp – The Soft Wave

Plant
2. Robert Plant – Band of Joy

Zola Jesus
1. Zola Jesus – Stridulum II

These aren’t strictly in order by the way…just stuff I’ve liked in the past week or so; the reverse countdown was perhaps a little deceiving and has resulted in disappointment for all. Abe Vigoda was probably best.

_________________________________________________

* I realise this invalidates my comment about higher brain function. On an unrelated note, following a large spike in visitors following my Ballard article being linked to someone else’s discussion of Brutalism, I got another spike this week when someone who has a blog about Glee (the programme, not the feeling) linked to my blog for what is still an indiscernible reason

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

