Wales Based Listening Habits

Having been literally off the radar in North Wales (I couldn’t have even made emergency calls if I wanted to) on a friends ‘pre-wedding event’, my listening habits in the past week have been a little different, as I attempted to share a more inclusive set of sounds with my companions. As a result, the soundtrack to the weekend was comprised of a few key albums, as well as five playlists that I put together for the occasion. Liam requested a run down of what was included, so I thought I’d put it up here so that I may refer back to it in future. A combination of what I feel to be crowd pleasers, as well as more left field additions. Firstly though, a five to one run down of albums that were played during the TDEER Weekend as it shall henceforth be referred to;

Hunky Dory
5.    Hunky Dory – David Bowie

Add It Up
4.    Add It Up – Violent Femmes

In Utero
3.    In Utero – Nirvana

OK Computer
2.    OK Computer – Radiohead

WOTW
1.    Jeff Wayne – War of the Worlds Anniversary Edition

Jeff Wayne is a clear winner. The other albums hung in the background, occasionally heard on car stereos or in the cottage we stayed in, but War of the Worlds was stuck in everyone’s heads the entire weekend. In my case it was particular guitar lines and ridiculous wah wah and phaser effects that make the album so awesome (in the original sense of the word), for others it was ‘ULLA!’ or ‘The chances of anything coming from Mars…’. So ‘kudos’ to that particular ear worm. Thankfully some annoying twats on the train home removed various refrains from my head with their inane banter about The Futureheads being the best band of all time, The Phantom Menance being the best film of all time and John Travolta being the best actor of all time (Ewan McGregor was discounted for having shit hair), peppered with randomly yelled lines from Queen songs. They we’re returning from Reading festival. This is why I don’t go to Reading festival. That and disliking all the bands.

Mix Playlists
I made 5 CDs of material for the car/CD player, because I don’t have an MP3 player and like the idea of trying to put together a mix of a certain length that isn’t simply randomly selected by a program, but has had someone think about the flow of the mix and the intended audience. That said, it’s personal taste, so my mix might be a bad combo to many…I feel I overused one or two artists (Clark, Sun Ra) but I like them, and I’m allowed. I ended each mix with a long song as well, though I don’t know why. I also made a memory mix combining tracks from the albums mentioned/discussed in the Music of Memory articles friends wrote at the beginning of the year – I’ve put the people who the tracks were aimed at in brackets after each track. The whole selection should be of limited interest unless people a) were there at the time and wanted to know which song was which or b) want to recreate the mix using Spotify and then complain about how it doesn’t work:

nb. tracks in bold are songs Tomfire or variants of Tomfire once covered or tried to cover, as far as I recall

Memory Mix:
1. Mogwai – Glasgow Megasnake (Everyone)
2. David Bowie – Starman (Lee, Liam, Me)
3. Smog – Mother of the World (Liam)
4. …And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead – Mistakes and Regrets
5. Japan – Methods of Dance (Liam, Me)
6. Led Zeppelin – When The Levee Breaks (Liam, Me)
7. Cinematic Orchestra – Flute (Me entirely, because I can’t drum along to it)
8. Alphaville – Big In Japan (Chris)
9. Camel – Lady Phantasy (Me again, because I wanted a big fat prog number in the middle and I loved this
track when I was a kid. I was an odd child)
10. Pulp – I Spy (Chris)
11. Radiohead – Lucky (Everyone)
12. Nirvana – The Man Who Sold The World (Everyone, but mainly Lee)
13. Boards of Canada – Aquarius (Everyone – Thirty Three, Orange, yeh, that’s right)
14. Talking Heads – Once In A Lifetime*

Mix 1:
1. M83 – Asterick (preceded by John Baker’s Newsbeat Theme which was worked in to it)
2. Black Carrot – Rubber Mummy
3. Animal Collective – My Girls
4. Clark – Rainbow Voodoo*
5. Broken Social Scene – Chase Scene
6. Linear Movement – A Night In June
7. Silver Mount Zion – I Built Myself A Metal Bird
8. Gil Scott-Heron – Me And The Devil
9. Tomfire – Why’s Mum Snippet
10. Caribou – Kaili
11. David Bowie – Beauty and the Beast
12. Owen Pallett – Oh Heartland, Up Yours!
13. Neon Indian – Local Joke
14. Roxy Music – 2hb
15. The Knife – Neverland
16. Sun Ra – Soft Talk
17. Sebastien Tellier – Kilometer
18. Electrelane – Atoms Tomb
19. Lindstrom – Grand Ideas*

Mix 2:
1. Charles Mingus – IIB.S
2. Venetian Snares – Hajnal*
3. Fortdax – You Are Me (remix)
4. Can – Moonshake
5. Bear In Heaven – Lovesick Teenagers
6. The Black Heart Procession – Suicide
7. Autechre – Eutow
8. Trans AM – Music for Dogs
9. The Magnificents – This Is The Magnificents!
10. Yo La Tengo – Let’s Save Tony Orlando’s House
11. Howlin’ Wolf – Little Baby
12. Four Tet – She Moves She
13. Do Make Say Think – In Mind
14. Flying Lotus – Satelllliiiiiteee
15. TV on the Radio – Shout Me Out
16. CEO – White Magic
17. Mogwai – 2 Rights Make 1 Wrong

Mix 3:
1. Rumskib – Love At First Sight
2. Radian – Rapid Eye Movement
3. The Rural Alberta Advantage – The Ballad of the RAA
4. Limahl – Neverending Story*
5. PE Hewitt Jazz Ensemble – It Don’t Matter….Yes It Do!
6. Sonic Youth – What A Waste
7. Belbury Poly – Owls and Flowers
8. Boards of Canada – Davyan Cowboy
9. Angelo Badalamenti – The Beast
10. Husky Rescue – Man of Stone
11. Nick Caves and the Bad Seeds – Midnight Man
12. Miles Davis – Jeru
13. Eels – Souljacker Part 1
14. Stereo – Somewhere In The Night
15. Radiohead – The Trickster
16. Minotaur Shock – Amdram
17. Squarepusher – Welcome to Europe
18. Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Motherfucker Redeemer Part 2

Mix 4:
1. Alex Smoke – Pilk
2. Blonde Redhead – SW
3. Andrew Bird – Plasticities
4. The Books – Smells Like Content
5. Baths – Maximalist
6. Eleven Pond – Moving Nowhere
7. Dosh – The Lost Take
8. Dead Meadow – Such Hawks Such Hounds
9. Moon Wiring Club – Employment Services
10. Elbow – Coming Second**
11. DM Stith – Pity Dance
12. Kate Bush – The Big Sky
13. Exploding Star Orchestra – Cosmic Tones for Sleep
14. Japan – Ghosts*
15. Clark – Future Daniel
16. Hanne Hukkelberg – No Mascara Tears
17. Ariel Pink – Fright Night (Nevermore)
18. Chrome Hoof – Sea Hornet

Mix 5
1. Royksopp – What Else Is There
2. Jessamine – Step Down
3. Same Actor – Red Yellow Porpoise
4. John Fahey – Knoxville Blues
5. Robert Wyatt – Lullaloop
6. Shining – Gortex Weather Report
7. Viernes – Sinister Devices
8. Suicide – Diamonds, Fur Coat, Champagne
9. Sun Ra Arkestra – Saturn
10. Emeralds – Double Helix
11. Talk Talk – It’s My Life*
12. On Fillmore – Master Moon
13. Octopus Syng – Frail Elephant
14. Paddy Kingsland – The Panel Beaters
15. Warpaint – Elephants
16. Lars Horntveth – The Joker
18. Telefon Tel Aviv – You Are The Worst Thing In The World
19. Murcof – Rostro

Additionally, Chris provided a very enjoyable collection of sounds for a potential club night that included gems that I would definitely want to grace a night I would go to (Electrelane and Dexys Midnight Runners spring immediately to mind). I think this would make it a niche event though right, you know, if I like it? People don’t know what they’re missing. There was also the amusing random shuffle of Radiohead tracks that produced a largely unbalanced view of the band, favouring Pablo Honey over everything else. A proper memory lane wander.

A longer post about my impressions of the place(s) will follow.

______________________________________________________

* All songs marked with a star are ‘The Greatest Song Ever Written’, according to things I said at various points over the weekend. Of these songs, I think perhaps Once In A Lifetime wins, though I say that in the knowledge that I sound like the Travolta loving twats I mentioned earlier.
** Tomfire covered this song when they played a birthday party in a former mental hospital, so I added this track for that reason. We played the track loud enough in the car that we reckon we broke the speakers. Everything after this was horribly distorted.

2 Responses to “Wales Based Listening Habits”

  1. Chris Says:

    Because of your mix CDs and invoked nostalgia, I have been compelled to track down and purchase this cd
    http://www.discogs.com/Various-Exclusives/release/695733

Leave a Reply

